SAIF Annual Awards Dinner

This prestigious event took place on 25th May 2012 at Emperors Palace and was attended by over 300 members of the foundry industry. The dinner was well supported by sponsors in the form of prizes for the award winners, spot prizes for attendees, wine on the tables and ticket sponsors for VIP guests invited by the institute. We would like to thank the following sponsors for their valuable contributions.

  • Insimbi Refractory and Alloy Supplies
  • Sasol Synfuels Procurement and Marketing
  • Mineral-Loy
  • Foseco
  • LIL Sales
  • J & D Castings
  • SI Group
  • Lauds Foundry Equipment
  • Morgan Thermal Ceramics

Special thanks also to the following individuals and organisations for making the event successful; SAIF Council, John Davies (CEO SAIF), Marina De Goede Biljon (SAIF), Countrywide Medals, Emperors Palace, Minuteman Press Alberton and Corporate Communication.

Award Winners

Past President: Luis Dias

Non Member Diploma: Geordie Osler
for the best technical presentation presented during 2011 by a non-member to the institute.
“Silicon Carbide in the Metal Industry”

Honorary Member: Peter Forbes
for outstanding service to the Institute

Best First Year Student in Metallurgy (2 Winners):
Martin Moeng from VUT and Sibonelo Makama from TUT
Sponsored by Insimbi and Sasol

Best Final Year Student in Metallurgy:
Tebogo Nkwe from UJ
Sponsored by Foseco

Colin Butler: John Bryson
for the best technical presentation presented in 2011 by a SAIF member
“Overview of GIFA visit”

SAIF Life Member: George Laurens

A H Guy Award: David Mertens
for outstanding service to the industry

The following Career Path Framework learners received their MerSETA certificates in recognition of the completion for NQF Level 2:

  • Michelle Pillay
  • Tersias Foster
  • Jason Stevens
  • Brandon Capiama
  • Vincent Pieterse
  • Francois Swartz
  • Olebogeng Marekwa
  • Simphiwe Sodela
  • Thokozani Mbele
  • Feafe Prince Totetsi
  • Tumelo Pheto